Rare Black Moon solar eclipse takes bite out of sun over South America

Rare Black Moon solar eclipse takes bite out of sun over South America

Skywatchers across parts of the Southern Hemisphere were treated to the first partial eclipse of the year today. 

The partial solar eclipse of April 30, one of two happening in 2022, swept over parts of South America, Antarctica, and the Pacific and Atlantic oceans. The solar eclipse began at 2:45 p.m. EDT (1845 GMT) in the far southeastern Pacific near the coast of Antarctica. It lasted just under four hours, ending at 6:37 p.m. EDT (2237 GMT) over the south Atlantic Ocean, according to TimeandDate.com, although for many observers, the sun set while still partially eclipsed.


#Rare #Black #Moon #solar #eclipse #takes #bite #sun #South #America

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.